The future of Bully breeds….

Nothing rings in my ears more loudly  now than the words of Pastor Martin Niemöller.

First They Came for the Jews

First they came for the Jews
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Jew.
Then they came for the Communists
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Communist.
Then they came for the trade unionists
and I did not speak out
because I was not a trade unionist.
Then they came for me
and there was no one left
to speak out for me.

Today in the AP it is reported as follows….

“TOLEDO, Ohio (AP) Cities attempting to regulate vicious dogs can limit the number of pit bulls under one roof, the Ohio Supreme Court ruled Wednesday.
    Animal rights groups opposed the limits, saying laws should focus on owners who train dogs to be aggressive.
    The ruling upheld a Toledo ordinance that limits dog owners to one pit bull per house and sets requirements on confining the dogs.
    In a unanimous decision, the court reversed an appeals court ruling.
    Paul Tellings, formerly of Toledo, challenged the citys pit bull law after he was convicted of owning three pit bulls. One of the dogs was confiscated and destroyed.
    Tellings argued that part of the ordinance that defined a vicious dog was too broad. But the city said pit bulls were a danger in urban areas.”

As  a pet owner/care giver I do NOT do bully breeds, they simply do not appeal to me, I am a herding/gundog kinda  gal, as a rescuer if it’s furred or feathered and needs a little help along  the way bring it on. In 30+ years of rescue I have become very cynical about my fellow human beings, I have come to the conclusion that ppl in the majority are  either self serving, dumb, ignorant, uneducated or downright evil.

First you have the bleeding hearts. They need  to jump on a cause to justify the life they live and to get their 5 minutes of  fame. All of this  while they are lining their own pockets of course.

Then  you  have the intentionally  dumb, “oh i did’nt know that”  thats because you never bothered to find out moron!!!

The ignoramous…. knows everything, but knows nothing in reality.

The uneducated… this speaks for it’self… this person  was just to damn lazy  to bother learning.

Then we have the downright evil…  these are the ones the reval in the suffering of  another sentient being. They range  from the murderer to  the 12 year old girl  that throws gasoline on a trap kitten and sets it alight just for kicks.

Then you have the ppl in goverment… from the small county board all the way up… they are unique…. they have a little of all of the above in them.

In my little corner of the world, the evil ones are the abusers, the dog fighters, the person that chains their dog  to the porch in 100 degree weather with no food, water or shelter.

To a degree the abuser and the chainer are being dealt with, all  bit it inadequately. The dog fighter however slips through the cracks,  it’s too much effort  for the powers that be to get off their ass and  actually hunt down and  destroy these lowlife rock dwellers, unless of  cause the story will hit the headlines and get them some good press, then they are all over it  like flies to honey. The law makers consistanly refuse to acknowledge that  it is ppl  that are  the issue, so they pass laws blaming   a breed of  dog because it’s easier than dealing with the real issue. They walk all over ppl’s constitutional rights and they punish the good and responsible ppl for the crimes of the few evil rock dwellers.

The media has played a huge part in this…. we all know headlines sell papers, so if a golden retirever bites half the face off a child it may not even get a mention, but if a staffordshire  terrier growls at another dog they are all over it calling for bans.

In 30 years  of rescue I have handled many bully breeds,  I have NEVER been bitten by one of them. I have also handled many other dogs,  the dogs  that have  bitten me have been Chihuahau’s, Labs, Poodles, Spaniels  and Border Collies. 

WAKE  UP PPL,  IT IS NOT THE DOGS THAT

ARE THE PROBLEM!!!

IN closing I will end  with the words I began with……

First they came for the German Shepherd dogs
and I did not speak out
because I did not own one.
Then they came for the Rottwielers
and I did not speak out
because I did not a own one.
Then they came for the Pit Bulls
and I did not speak out
because I did not own a Pit Bull.
Then they came for my dog
and there was no one left
who would speak out for me.

Leave a Reply

